Corn Dog Muffins

Welcome back to Lunch Lady Land!  In case you’re new to YinMom YangMom, we are in the midst of a multi-part series on fun foods for your kids’ lunch boxes, with a little bit of healthy sprinkled in…

This is Episode III of Lunch Lady Land, so here are two other great posts, just in case you missed them:

Homemade Gummy Fruit Snacks and Juicy Jiggles

Nut-Free (and healthy!) Reese’s Cups

For today’s installment, we are featuring a “main course,” that old fair-food-favorite, corn dogs!  What kid doesn’t love???  My three- and five- year olds never pass one up!

Here’s what I love about the YinMom YangMom version:

-They’re baked, not fried
-There’s actual corn in them
-They’re made with low-sodium, low-fat, nitrate-free turkey franks
-They’re perfectly portioned
-The fun factor: you can get fancy with the wrapper
-They are perfectly delicious at room temp

So let’s get started!  Here is what you will need:

Corn Dog Muffins
(makes 18 muffins)

1 cup all-purpose flour
3/4 cup cornmeal
2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
3/4 teaspoon kosher salt
6 turkey franks
3/4 cup fresh or frozen corn kernels
2 eggs
1/4 cup agave nectar
1 cup milk
1/4 cup (half a stick) unsalted butter

Begin by melting the butter.  I like to do mine in the microwave in a glass measuring cup, and then I just add the rest of the liquid ingredients right in there and save myself from having to wash another bowl.

I’m pretty smart.  And lazy.

Ok so if you are a bit challenged in the baking department, the liquid ingredients are: melted butter, milk, agave nectar, and eggs.

Next you can combine the dry ingredients in a medium-sized mixing bowl.

Dry ingredients are: flour, cornmeal, salt, and baking powder.

Cut up the hot dogs.  I usually cut them into quarters, lengthways, and then into little bites.  As much as kiddies love hot dogs, they can be a choking hazard, so you can never be too careful about cutting them up small.

Throw the dogs into the dry ingredients along with the corn, and toss everything around a bit.

Now just pour in the liquid ingredients and stir until combined.

Divide the batter equally among 18 muffin cups with paper liners, and bake for 18 minutes at 350 degrees.

Easy!

And it’s even easier when you can just pop one or two from your freezer into a lunchbox on a busy morning!

Just add a juice box and a piece of fruit and there you have it!

Yum!

If you liked this idea, stay tuned, because there will be lots more like it!  But in the meantime, be sure to check out the homemade gummy fruit snacks, and the healthy reese’s cups!

And if there is something in particular that your kids jones for, that you aren’t exactly thrilled about, leave me a comment at the bottom of this post and I’ll see if I can come up with a healthier version!

4 thoughts on “Corn Dog Muffins

    • OK, my oven sucks, plus it’s really humid so I had a few problems, but Brooke absolutely loved them. I think she ate 6 of them, and she’s super picky. My oven doesn’t heat evenly, or use the heat right, or something. Every time I bake I have to finagle the temperature and pretty much double the time. It’s annoying. But I figured out if I did them at 375* for 30 minutes, they turned out great. I may use a couple less hot dogs next time.

      I’m so excited to put these in Brooke’s lunch tomorrow!

      • that is awesome! mine did come out pretty moist, (I like them that way), so you could up the flour a bit if you like them drier, but it sounds like the issue is with the oven and not the recipe. i’m so glad brooke liked them so much! xoxo

        ________________________________

Leave a Reply

