Easy Way to Clean Silver

Today is a special day; my dear little Choochelah is off to his first day of kindergarten!

Tucked away in my jewelry box is this little tourmaline ring.  I hold it close to my heart.  It was a birthday present from Mr. Allie, purchased on a trip to Bar Harbor, Maine, very shortly after little Chooch took up residence in my tummy just over five short years ago.  I always remember that trip (our last before becoming mama and dada) when I look at that ring, and it somehow makes me feel even closer to my precious boy.

I dragged out the little treasure this morning, but before I could put it on my finger, I noticed with dismay that it was poorly neglected and terribly tarnished…

Do you guys know this trick already?  I wish I could say I invented it, but I think it’s actually been around for a long time…

Gather up your sad and dirty sterling silver…

…line a glass dish with aluminum foil.  Sprinkle baking soda all over the surface of the foil.  Is there anything baking soda can’t do?

Lay your silver out on the baking soda/foil.

Pour boiling water over.

By the time the water is cool, you will see a lot less tarnish.

Buff the baubles with a paper towel to shine them up even more.

My tourmaline precious is practically as good as new!

It really helps, and it’s nice to not have to mess around with a chemical-ly silver polish.  But if you have something really gross it might not completely do the trick.

You are on my mind and in my heart today, and every day, sweet ChoochooBear…  Happy Kindergarten, baby!

15 thoughts on “Easy Way to Clean Silver

  1. That photo is tugging at my heart! It’s perfect! How’d you get such a great shot without any other kids involved? I LOVE it. 🙂

    • well, i’m a little embarrassed to admit this, but… we were late! when they told me afternoon kindergarten started at 12:45,i didn’t realize that meant i should drop him off ten minutes before that…! i am a bad mama :( thanks for the sweet compliment, though…

      ________________________________

      • Aw! You are no way near a bad parent! This is all new for us! It’s still a beautiful photo of him entering a new stage in his life. It’s wonderful! 🙂

Leave a Reply

