Product Review! Allie’s Highlighter

I went and bought the L’Oreal Magic Lumi Highlighter that Allie recommended in her post; Backyard Barbeque Beauty, and here’s my review!

Normally I use MAC’s Studio Finish concealer, which is described on their website as being “discreetly opaque”.  I’d agree with that, so I’ve become accustomed to that type of thing.

This highlighter is much lighter in texture than MAC, and it is also much lighter in color.  They only have 3 colors, which I’m guessing is because they’re sheer enough to go on any skin tone?

It does cover surprisingly well, pretty close to that of MAC’s concealer, however it took a little longer to blend, and I had to use more of it.  It definitely does give your skin a luminous, smooth quality though, and I really like that.  Sometimes MAC gives more of a greasy look.

All in all, I like it, the price is good and I’d probably buy it again, but I’ll keep my MAC on hand for days when my skin is more dry.  Thanks for the recommendation Allie!

4 thoughts on “Product Review! Allie’s Highlighter

  1. Yes! the L’Oreal is not like a normal concealer. I also use MAC, but when I am on the beach or outside on a hot,sticky day, I’m looking for something super-light and weightless, even if that means a bit less coverage. I wouldn’t even characterize Lumi as a concealer, but more of a brightener. It feels like bare skin, doesn’t crease, just de-emphasizes flaws a little bit, but is great for a very natural, un-makeup-y look.

Leave a Reply

