Backyard Barbecue Beauty

So now that I’ve given away all my beach beauty secrets, I thought I’d follow up with a few more summer makeup tips, for those times when you still want to keep it light and breezy, but maybe just want to play up your features a bit more.

If you haven’t already read my post on Beach Beauty, well… what the heck are you waiting for?  Don’t waste another minute feeling a) drab and colorless, or b) runny, creasey and cakey, in this heat!  Just because the mercury is high does not mean you can’t look pretty.  Beach Beauty is the perfect starting point for your best summer look.

…ok so now you’ve read it right?  You know all about my DIY bb cream and the most universally flattering blush and how to pretty up your pucker while preventing labial ephelides?  Cool, ok, so then you are now ready to hear about how to make the most of your peepers without looking (or feeling!) too “made up.”

Much as I love my beach beauty face, there are times when it doesn’t completely cut it.  I may not want to wear a lot of eye makeup on the beach, but how about all those fun backyard barbcues?  Once the sun goes down a bit, the shades come off, there’s a soft breeze blowing and maybe a little margarita buzz…  It’s nice to flash a little sparkle in your Mr.’s direction.  So, start with your beach beauty-ful face and dial it up a notch with these easy steps.

Luminizer, aka Illuminator, aka Brightener.  Every brand has their own version, and this is my favorite:

Yves Saint Laurent Touche Eclat

…however, it is a bit spendy, and, also I have to go to the mall to get it.  For some strange reason, my five- and three-year old boys don’t enjoy makeup shopping at the mall.  (???  I know, right?)  So, right now I’m using this:

L'Oreal Magic Lumi Concealer, Fair

L’Oreal Magic Lumi Highlighter

…and guess what?  I can’t even tell the difference.

I dab a bit on the inner corners of my eyes as well as the undereye area, and pat it in with a fingertip.  It’s a lot lighter than concealer, and it doesn’t settle into fine lines at all.  It perks up your whole face!  It’s like a power nap in stick form!

Next step:  waterproof eyeliner.  The most budge-proof formula I’ve ever used has to be Make-up Forever.  MAC is also good.  But, again, mall.  Maybe something like this:

Revlon ColorStay Eyeliner Pencil, Black Brown 202

Revlon Colorstay Eyeliner

I like it in a really dark brown, and I just apply really thin little dashes along the upper lashes only.  It just makes your lashes look thicker and darker, which is something I really need, being a ginger with blond-tipped eyelashes.

The last step is optional, depending on the level of make-up-ed-ness you are after.  It is mascara.  Here is my favorite:

Maybelline Great Lash Lots Of Lashes Washable Mascara, Very  Black

Maybelline Great Lash Lots of Lashes

…and a post on why I like it so much.  But for those really steamy days, something like this is a great option:

Maybelline Great Lash Clear Mascara for Lash and Brow

Maybelline Great Lash Clear Mascara

It just darkens your lashes and helps them to stand out more.  And, it won’t run or flake.  And, you can use it on your brows too!

Now you are all set for some backyard summer party time!  A fresh-faced, natural look that feels weightless, protects you from sun damage, and flatters!  Have a margarita for me ;oP

5 thoughts on “Backyard Barbecue Beauty

  1. I’ve been wanting to try that L’Oreal highlighter. Sounds like I may need to take a trip to Target! I also love the Maybelline Lots of Lashes mascara. I’m not a big mascara person but I love that one!

    So glad I found your blog!! Very entertaining and informative read. =)

    • Thanks so much, daniejean20! I’m so glad you found our blog too!

      Love, love, love Lots of Lashes! One quickie coat can look so natural, or if it’s date night I can do multiple coats for more drama and it never gets clumpy! And it’s so good at getting into tight corners and picking up those little baby lashes… Definitely get over to Target for the L’Oreal highlighter! I am really digging it.

      Thanks for the comment!

    • I know, the mall can be such a hassle sometimes. The YSL is the gold standard and I used to always get it in my pre-mommy days. I think I started using it when I worked at the makeup counter and I really loved it. It’s great but the L’Oreal is really just like it! I honestly can’t even tell the difference…

Leave a Reply

