Beach Beauty

Ok, so right now, in my part of the world, it’s not quite ten a.m. and already the temperature is in the 80’s.  By mid-afternoon they’re saying it’s going to feel like it’s in the triple digits.  What kind of a kook would even want to bother with makeup on this kind of a day???  Maybe a freckly, pale, reddish-haired kook?

My name is Allie and I am a ginger kid.  I am also terribly vain, most of the time, and I simply cannot set foot out in public with all my worst flaws on display for the whole world to see.  Even on the hottest, most humid, melt-your-face-off days, there is something in me that just can’t resist a little something to brighten up my appearance.

Of course, there are certain instances where nobody, even the vainest of gingers, wants to feel or look heavily made up.  (The beach, for instance?)  I absolutely lighten way up on cosmetics on a day like this.  So, if you are also freckly and pale, and maybe have some cellulite or stretch marks you aren’t so proud of, read on for some of my best summer beauty tricks.

Everything to do with summer beauty, for me, begins and ends with a little bronze.  I’ve been a fan of self-tanner since way back before most people ever even heard of it.  There used to be this stuff called QT…?  If you remember QT give me a shout in the comment section…  Anyhow, now you can get self-tanner any- and everywhere, from every suncare brand imaginable.  If you have never tried it, be not afraid.  They are absolutely goof-proof.  If you can apply body lotion, you can do self-tanner.

Now, I gave up on ever looking “tan” a very long time ago.  To any other gingers out there reading this post, you are never going to look like Jennifer Lopez.  That’s not what this is about.  This is about not blinding people with the glare coming off your pasty-white ass.  It’s really a public service.  Also, I have found, that a little bit of a glow goes a long way to minimize any unevenness in your skin tone.  Light Bulb!  Bye-bye cellulite!  See ya later, stretch marks!  Freckles, I’ll be seeing a lot less of you, too!  It can even make you look thinner!  It’s a miracle product, I’m telling you.

As for brands, I have tried so many, and I really don’t think it matters much.  They all do pretty much the same thing, for me it mostly comes down to the fragrance, price, and where I can buy it.  I go through a lot so it’s nice if I can pick it up while I’m at the grocery store or on a WalMart run.  Right now I’m using Sublime Bronze, (which has some shimmer in it, FYI), but I also like Neutrogena Micro Mist for hands-free application.  When I’m really feeling lazy and I don’t even want to have to wash my hands after.  Which, btw, don’t forget to do, or you will end up with the weirdest orange palms, and everyone will know your secret.

So now on to my favorite summer beauty secret, which I call “homemade BB cream.”  If you are a beauty junkie, such as myself, then you’ve probably noticed the latest thing on the market: BB cream.  It’s basically just a tinted moisturizer on steroids.  They have a lot of serum-y ingredients, like anti-oxidants and peptides, and a lot of them are a bit like primers, smoothing out the skin’s texture.  Usually they have a bit of sunscreen in them too, but beware: it’s not nearly enough for a ginger.  I like a 50+ full-spectrum sunblock.  I don’t need any more freckles, that is for sure.

Ok, so what I like to do, after washing my face with a baby washcloth (great trick, it’s the perfect amount of exfoliation and you can buy them anywhere for so cheap), is put a pea-sized drop of each: burqa-strength sunblock, self-tanner, and an all-in-one foundation/primer in the palm of my hand, rub them all together, and smooth all over my face like moisturizer.  One step.  Done.  Evened out and protected, with a little bit of glow to boot.  For my skin, that’s all the moisture I need, especially in the summer when I tend to be a little oilier anyway.  I use a richer cream at night if I feel like I need it.  You can use whatever your own favorite products are, or you can try what I’m currently into, which is. again, based mostly on price and what is nearby and easy to find:

Neutrogena Ultra Sheer Dry-Touch Sunblock, SPF 100

Neutrogena Ultra-Sheer SPF 100+

L'Oreal Sublime Bronze Self-Tanning Lotion, Deep Natural

L’oreal Sublime Bronze Self-Tanner

Hard Candy Just Face It One Step Foundation, Medium

Hard Candy One-Step Foundation

So, that covers moisture and protection, but I also like to rosy up my cheeks with a bit of Benetint, which is, hands down, the most universally flattering blush on the market.  You will look like you just came in from a run.  Healthy and fresh.  And, it’s a liquid, so it just sinks right in and never gets cakey in the heat, like a powder or cream might.

Benefit Benetint 

Other than that I just like a little something on my lips, for moisture, shimmer, and also, preferably, for extra sun protection.  I’d rather not end up with any more labial ephelides, which sounds gross and embarrassing but it’s just a fancy word for a freckle on your lip.  I like orangey-reds, peaches, and corals with my skin tone so here’s what I’m using now:

CoverGirl Natureluxe Gloss Balm, Coral 230

Cover Girl Natureluxe Gloss Balm, SPF 15

And, last but not least, a pair of UV-blocking sunglasses.  The bigger the better!  For more sun protection, and for glamour!  And you can skip the heavy eye makeup… in this heat, it will never last anyway…

What are your favorite summer beauty products?  Leave a comment at the bottom of the post and share the wealth!  Don’t we all love a good recommendation?

7 thoughts on “Beach Beauty

  1. She inherited my red-haired, freckly Scotch Irish complexion and coloring. I so wish she had inherited the Sicilian dna. :0(

  2. Any suggestions for those of us completely allergic to any type of makeup. I can handle Burt’s Bees Moisturizer, but so far every normal or mine real makeup turns my skin red and makes my eyes burn. 😦

    • Well, it’s hard to say without knowing what is causing the allergy specifically. Since you said even mineral makeup irritates, I’m figuring it must be the pigments. Are you able to use sunscreen (I hope)? Can you use self tanner? If so I would stick to those two things, & between the physical blocker in the sunscreen & the bronzing properties of the self tanner, that should even out your complexion a good bit. Maybe if you get shiny you could try a little translucent loose powder. Definitely translucent, since you can’t do pigment. Burt’s bees probably makes one, or maybe Almay would be good for you since its hypoallergenic. Good luck!

  3. Allie, you are a ginger, but you are so completely, naturally gorgeous, I’ve always admired your beauty! I have a teensy bit of the Sicilian junk, but that doesn’t make me or anyone else any better in any way. ❤

Leave a Reply

