Home Sweet Home!

Wow, it’s been a wonderful, long two weeks in Florida with our wonderful friends Karen and Jonathan, and now I’m so happy to be back home.  I’m so ready to get back to my “normal” life, and I’ve missed this little blog so much!

Jared and I have never taken a vacation this long, and haven’t flown anywhere with the kids.  Flying with a 3 year old and (almost) 5 year old was about as crazy as I thought it would be.  There were fights over the window seats, tantrums over having to wait in lines, and impatient whining over having to stay in a seat for hours on end.  We did it though!  I’m very content in the knowledge that we won’t be flying anywhere for another year and half (when we’ll go to Florida again to watch my best friend get married).  Hopefully, by then Leif will be out of his major tantrum phase, and we’ll be smart enough to fly direct, rather than stop in the 7th circle of hell Newark. Whew!

We were so busy the whole time we were there.  Karen and Johnny have a pool, so that was pretty much the central focus, but we also went to the coolest playground I’ve ever seen, Common Ground, which is not just a playground, but an “inclusive play experience”.  I don’t understand why there’s no inclusive play experience in the Hartford area.  Get with the program, Connecticut!

We went to the beach in Clearwater, and went canoeing at Wakiva Springs, where we saw all kinds of animals including alligators (right next to our canoe!) and adorable baby otters.  So cute!

We visited Magic Kingdom, Epcot and Sea World.  I love Disney, the kids loved it, it was awesome.  I have to say I’m not a huge fan of Sea World, and I think the reason is because I don’t like watching animals swim in circles all day long.  It’s just kind of sad and boring.  But Disney is awesome.  I know it’s a little cheesy, but it really is a magical place.  We spent the majority of the day in Magic Kingdom, where Brooke and Leif LOVED It’s a Small World. We ate lunch with Winnie the Pooh, Tigger, Piglet and Eyore.  Watching Brooke meet the princesses was so magical, we all got a little sappy.  They really made her feel welcome, like they’d been waiting for her to visit them all day.  Her little face was so lit up, it was absolutely adorable! Later we went to Epcot where we ate, drank and played before watching some amazing fireworks.  It was a perfect day!

When we finally got back home, Leif and I walked into the house together, and he gasped and said, in his little three-year-old voice, “my home is so beautiful!”.  I almost died.  It was so fun to get away, but I do love the feeling of getting back home again.

Going through all the photos makes me so happy, I am so blessed.  Now I have a lot of catching up to do, and I’m so happy to get back to blogging, meditating, cooking and working. I hope you all have a beautiful day today!

4 thoughts on “Home Sweet Home!

  1. You sound so refreshed. I am so glad you were able to vacation and relax with friends and family. It’s always good for the soul. xoxo

Leave a Reply

