Kicking off a Glorious Spring Weekend

Allie’s sister is feeling a little jealous right now.

In my part of the world, yesterday evening was a heavenly 75 degrees, with a light breeze and a gorgeous sunset.  It didn’t hurt that the rugrats were at Grammie’s house for a couple of hours…

There is nothing I’d rather do on a Friday than enjoy a little happy hour on my patio with my Mr. and a margarita.  And a freshly made bowl of guacamole is like the icing on the cake!

I promise you, this guacamole is miles better than anything you can buy in a store.  The secret ingredient is…. : fresh!  It makes it taste so killer!  You just can’t believe how much yummier something can be when it is fresh!  Especially avocados.  You know, they like to turn brown just as quick as they can, so when you buy pre-made guac it’s loaded with heaven knows what, to keep it green.  Why bother with that, when it’s one of the simplest things you can imagine to make???

Here is my favorite method, but you can jazz it up your way with anything you’d like, from fresh garlic, to diced tomatoes, jalapeno, crabmeat… I’ve even eaten it with pomegranate seeds or strawberries!  It’s surprisingly delish!

I like to leave the avocados for last, to keep them as green and fresh as possible.  So, I start by chopping a quarter of a sweet red onion, very finely…

Then I get a huge handful of fresh cilantro.  This is what I do with my fresh herbs when I get them home from the store (or harvested from the garden):

Just plop them in a glass of water in the fridge, like a pretty little bouquet of flowers.  It keeps them fresh longer!

So, chop the cilantro, but for this I like a rougher chop.  I like to be able to see and taste those fresh and flavorful leaves…

Toss it in a big bowl with the onion and add in the juice of one whole lime.  I find the limes in my area to be so hard and uncooperative.  Twenty seconds in the microwave really loosens them up and I get much more juice from them.

Add in a half teaspoon of kosher salt for a starting point.

Now for the avocados (I use two large ripies):  just cut all the way around the fruit with a sharp knife.  You can feel the hard pit in there…

…give it a twist and there you have two halves.  With the butt end of the knife blade, give the pit a careful but firm tap.  This will lodge the blade into the pit.

Twist and pull, and the pit should come right out.  But now it’s stuck on your knife.  Do not try to pull it off, you will certainly end up in the ER.  Push it off gently with your thumb, from behind the blade.

Ta dah!

Now I like to just score the flesh by sinking the tip of my blade down, into the fruit, stopping just as a feel the inside of the avocado skin.  I score down and then across, so I end up with bite-sized cubes.

Then scoop out the cubes into the bowl, and toss them around so they get a nice coat of lime juice.  The acid in the lime helps keep them green.

Now give it a taste, on a chip, for heaven’s sake!  It’s important that you taste it on a chip because by itself, it may taste very bland, but chips tend to be salty, so that will balance out the flavor.  Adjust the seasoning as needed.  A little more lime, a little more salt, etc.

You know when you hear that sound of a champagne cork popping, it just makes you feel like celebrating?  This guacamole is kinda the same thing for me, when I taste it, it just feels like summer!  Throw it together on the next warm, sunny evening, and bask in its glow….

Click here for a printable 4×6 recipe card: Fresh Guacamole Recipe Card

Bonus!  Make a fresh margarita:  two parts tequila, one part triple sec, one part freshly squeezed lime juice, and a squirt of agave syrup to taste.  Or, make a little strawberry simple syrup by dissolving equal parts sugar and hot water together with a mashed up strawberry.  Serve over ice.

2 thoughts on “Kicking off a Glorious Spring Weekend

  1. Guacamole is by far my favorite dip! I can eat a whole bowl myself! I only make fresh – and add tons of garlic and a jalopeno! Yum!

    To keep the guac from browning, add your avacado pit to the mix. It will keep it from oxidizing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

