Meal Planning – I lost 5 pounds!

I have a much better job now.

About a year ago I started working at a job at a really crappy company.  There were a lot of things that made it crappy, but one of them is that it caused me to gain 10 pounds.  There were a lot of restaurants around, so it made it too easy to buy lunches with enormous portions.  The job was super stressful, so it made me feel like I deserved to over eat, which is self destructive behavior.  (It also made me feel like I deserved a barrel of wine every day, but that’s a story for another time).

So now that I don’t work for that terrible company anymore, my life is very much happier, and I now have learned to balance my life in such a way that allows me to eat much healthier.  No more self destructive behavior for this party girl!  Well, maybe  a little here and there, but trust me, I’m much more wholesome now.

So, I’ve been following a weekly meal plan for the past 5 weeks, and I mainly eat my dinner leftovers for lunch.  No more takeout.  I also cut out fried snacks, and I lost a pound a week.  I exercise a little, and do a little yoga, but really the better food is what did it.

This last week was amazing and delish.  Highlights!:

The Asparagus and Morel Bread Pudding was insanely awesome, and I will definitely make it again.  I used sage instead of parsley, white and baby bella mushrooms in the place of morels, and regular onions in the place of half of the spring onions, and it tasted fantastic.  My husband suggested I go a little lighter on the asparagus next time.  I got this recipe from the Barbara Kingsolver book, Animal, Vegetable Miracle, which is a very interesting read and has taught me some good things about the food we eat.

I have to admit, I didn’t make the Reuben Galumpkis like I’d planned.  I went to buy the corned beef, and read the ingredients, which included a lot of weird nitrates to tenderize the meat, so I got scared and put it back.  Ironically, instead of making that when the day came around, I ended up making my incredibly unhealthy swedish meatball recipe, which contains horrible frozen meatballs filled with god knows what.  So I guess sometimes, you will just eat crap no matter how smugly health conscious you think you are.

The Turkey Sliders with Onion Marmalade were delish.  We grilled them and put cheddar cheese on top, and ate them with the marmalade and spicy mustard.  It was fantastic. I added a little mushrooms in with my onions in the marmalade, and it was very good.  I was too lazy to chop up sage, so it wasn’t there, but it was still very good.

New Year Noodle Soup is now one of my all-time favorite soups.  My husband made it, which made it that much awesomer.  He did kick it up a notch with something, but I’ll have to report back with exactly what, because he’s sleeping right now.  Also, for some crazy reason, my regular store didn’t carry lentils and borlotti beans, so we just used chick peas only.  We also didn’t use sour cream.  It reminded me a little bit of Vietnamese pho, without the meat.  I loved it very much.

I just wanted to note, I had Allie’s vegetarian meatballs on the calendar for last week, but I didn’t need to make it because we had so many leftovers, so I’ll make it this week and let you know how it is.

So, here’s what I have planned for next week:

And, as usual, you probably can’t see/click on my calendar if you’re viewing from an iPhone or from your email.  Check it out in a regular browser when you can.

Leave a Reply

