Meal Planning – Do or do not, there is no try!

I will not dread the store today.

This meal planning thing has really helped us in a lot of ways.  I haven’t had that shooting worry that used to hit me every day around 4:45 when I realized it was time to come up with a dinner idea, because all my options are right there in the fridge waiting for me.  I don’t miss that worry at all. It’s also really helped us with our food budget.  Last week I made a couple things that gave a lot of leftovers, so I was able to skip two nights of cooking and it saved about $40 on the food bill!

Recently someone said they liked the planning idea, but they like to wait and see what they’re really hungry for, so they’re hesitant to follow something so “planned”.  So, I just wanted to mention that I don’t follow the plan to the day, I make whatever I’m in the mood for on any given day, and I try to put a variety of things into the 7 day plan so I can pretty much cover any kind of craving.

So, here are some of the highlights on what we made over the last two weeks (sorry I skipped that part last week, I was sick).

The Kale and Roasted Vegetable Soup was very good, but I recommend making it the day before so the flavors can really mingle.  It was slightly bland, so you might want to spice it up. It gave us lots of leftovers for lunch.  The children were horrified by it.

The Double Broccoli Quinoa was amazing.  It had a ton of garlic, so I felt bad for the people around me at work.  It also gave us lots of lunch leftovers.  The kids were horrified again.

I’m a little behind on the Bulgogi Pizza, but we’re having it tonight.

Allie’s Transport Yourself Roasted Chicken was awesome.  It smelled so good in my kitchen.  The kids ate it.  Also, leftovers!

I didn’t make the Pasta with Broccoli Pesto (which is just the pesto from the Double Brocolli Quinoa over noodles).  I might make that for lunch today though.

I hate to say it, but I was a little disappointed by the Mushroom Casserole.  It felt like it took a really long time to cook, and it was meh.  The kids were horrified.  Lot’s of meh leftovers.

The Turkey Chili Taco Soup?  FANTASTIC!  Leftovers galore.  The kids loved it.

Alright, so here’s what we’re eating next:

Just a reminder, you probably can’t see/click on my calendar if you’re viewing from an iPhone or from your email.  Check it out in a regular browser when you can.

Leave a Reply

