Meal Planning – Still Going Strong.

I should mention, I did not do all the cooking. Thank you Love Monkey.

This has been a stunningly gorgeous second week of organization and predictability (food-wise) and I’m inspired to keep the momentum up!  First off, I want to say thank you to everybody who helped me with ideas and recipes to get my gluten-free thang started.  I’m have a few gluten free dinners in the plans for the next week.  Miriam, I’m making your pancakes for dinner on Saturday, we love b-fast for dinner and I’m psyched to try yours!  If you want to see her recipe, go here and look at the comments.  Thanks again Miriam!  I’m going to work everyone’s into my plans over the coming weeks, I’ll let you all know how it works out!

Just to sort of wrap up the past week, here’s what we ate, and what we thought of it all:

Shrimp and Pasta with Lemon Aglio Olio – Can’t go wrong, always delish of course!

Swedish Meatballs Over Egg Noodles – This is another all time fave in our family.  I’ll eventually share this recipe, but it’s not very healthy, so be prepared for me to ask your advice on how to improve it.  It tastes great though!

Grilled Brie, Pear, Sage, and Bacon Sandwiches
– You just can’t go wrong with Brie.  I will admit, I ate a whole block of brie before it came time to make this, and had to buy more.

Roasted Beet and Fennel Salad with Orange, Olives, Goat Cheese, and Walnuts – Very good.  The kids were uninterested, so they had some kid soup (Some organic stuff with noodles shaped like Elmo’s face).  We burned the walnuts, which was a big bummer, so we roasted some raw almonds on the stove and they were yum.

Mulligatawny Soup – This was good, but not exactly the Mulligatawny I’m used to from our local Indian joint.  I think a little more broth, lemon and salt would make it more like what I’ve had before, but it was super delish just the way it was. Leif couldn’t get enough, Brooke ate rice instead.

Steak with Kim Chee Butter w/ brocolli – Epic, epic, epic.  Worth the trip to A Dong for Kim Chee.  Will definitely make again.

Kale with Sausage and White Beans – Very very delicious, and worth making again very soon.  The kids ate all the white beans out of it.  We added some balsamic vinegar, which I think was just what it needed. I saw Leif eat a cooked onion without spitting it out!  Brooke nibbled a couple pieces of sausage.  I couldn’t find bulk sausage, so I bought chicken apple sausage.  I’m craving it now.

And here’s what we’re having for the next 7 nights.  Please note, I’d love a great recipe for gluten free pizza dough, any takers?  If so please comment and you’ll be graced with my undying gratitude!

PS: You can click here and here to see the last 2 weeks worth of dinnery goodness and read about my cuckoo journey!

One thought on “Meal Planning – Still Going Strong.

Leave a Reply

