Mole Poblano Grilled Cheese

Dirty! (Did I mention I love this girl?)

I have a dirty little secret.  I am ashamed.  I have lusted in my heart.

The object of my desire is Mole Poblano…

No, Mole is not some hot stud.  It is a centuries-old sauce preparation originated in Meso-America.

There are tons of delicious and authentic new Mexican restaurants popping up all over my neck of the woods, and every time we visit one, I salivate over all the fabulous menu items… but I never taste most of them, because my heart belongs to Mole.

A traditional mole is made up of as many as 30 different ingredients, painstakingly dried, toasted, ground, and simmered in a days long preparation process.  Here is an abbreviated list of what mole should consist of:

Ancho Chiles
Guajillo Chiles
Pasilla Chiles
Sesame Seeds
Almonds
Peanuts
Pumpkin Seeds
Raisins
Thyme
Marjoram
Oregano
Bay Leaf
Garlic
Onion
Tomatillos
Tomatoes
Corn Tortillas
Cinnamon
Cloves
Peppercorns
Anise Seed
Chocolate

Whew!  And this leads me to my other dirty little secret:  I have stumbled upon a completely sacrilegious version of mole that hits pretty much all the right notes: spicy, tangy, sweet, nutty, and bitter.  But I am not proud of this.  This is so totally ghetto, so “white-T,” as my Mr. would say.  It can only be described as the “hillbilly heroin” of the mole world.

When I am jonesing for a fix, and I really need me some enchiladas mole, this can do in a pinch.

Enchiladas Mole Grilled Cheese

1 tablespoon butter
2 slices bread
2 slices monterey jack cheese
2 slices sharp cheddar cheese
1/2 caramelized onion
1 tablespoon prepared barbecue sauce
1 teaspoon peanut butter
1 teaspoon unsweetened cocoa
1/2 teaspoon water

First for the mock-mole:  combine the barbecue sauce, peanut butter, and cocoa.  It may need to be thinned out with a little water.  Stir in the caramelized onion.

Melt the butter in a saute pan.  Dip both pieces of bread in the melted butter.  On the unbuttered side of one piece, layer cheese, mole and onions, and more cheese.

Place in the pan and top with the other piece of buttered bread.  Turn the flame way down low and pop on a lid so everything gets melty…

Flip it halfway through cooking so both sides get toasty.

Don’t judge…

This is actually the 12th installment in a series on 2012 Food Trends for the Home Cook.  Besides grilled cheese, there are also creative and interesting ideas for french fries, macarons, Korean food, and pudding!  Join us on our Food Nerd Journey!

Click here for the Intro to the Series
Click here for Part 1 of Greater Grilled Cheese: Brie, Pear, Bacon & Sage

3 thoughts on “Mole Poblano Grilled Cheese

Leave a Reply

