Bulgogi Pizza

This girl is seriously committed.

Confession:  I have been working on the Korean Food Category of my 2012 Food Trends Series for the last few weeks, and nothing I’ve made has measured up.

Not that the food hasn’t been good, the flavors are bangin’.  It just hasn’t really had anything special about it that would make it blog-worthy.  And it hasn’t really looked all that enticing, either, and everybody knows we eat with our eyes first, right?

My first attempt was a Korean short rib recipe, which tasted delish but just looked kinda brown and watery.  Next I made chicken bulgogi, which tasted even better than the short ribs, but, with their steamed rice and kimchee accompaniment, just looked like something I had ordered takeout.

After that I decided that I should start thinking outside the box.  After all, I’m not Korean, I haven’t been born and raised eating this food, there’s no way that I could ever do it better than someone’s um ma, so I’ll just try to do it different.

Today I’m making a pork roast, bulgogi-style, and shredding it up like pulled-pork.  And I’ll be topping a pizza with it!

This is a great recipe for a working mom because you can set it- and forget it! in the crockpot.

First I make the marinade for the pork.  Try doing this first thing in the morning or even the night before.

Bulgogi Marinade

1/4 cup gochuchang red pepper paste
2 cloves grated or finely minced garlic
1/4 cup dark soy sauce
2 teaspoons toasted sesame oil
2 teaspoons sugar or honey
2 teaspoons rice wine (mirin)

Just throw everything in a bowl…

…and mix it all up.

If you are doing this the night before, go ahead and coat your roast with it so it can soak up all the flavah.  If it’s morning, just throw the roast in the crockpot and pour the marinade on top.

Crank it to high heat and just let it be for 6 hours or until falling-apart tender.

Now for the pizza dough.  It maybe sounds crazy to make your own dough but it’s really not that bigga deal.  It needs time to rest/rise, but you’re already planning ahead for the crockpot business, so you may as well just throw your dough together while you’re at it.  But honestly, we all have those days where there just aren’t enough minutes, even, so if you aren’t up for the task, you can buy dough at a lot of grocery stores now.  And if yours doesn’t happen to stock it, just buy a ball or two from your local pizzeria.  They’re usually happy to sell it to you for a few bucks and homemade pizza is just so much tastier than one of those pre-baked disks.

I throw my dough together right after flipping the switch on the crock pot and then I don’t bother with it again until just before dinner.  Oh, and this recipe makes enough for two huge, family-size pizzas, or 4 dinner-plate sized.  Whatever you don’t use tonight can go into the fridge or freezer for another day.  Which is great because you can put all kinds of stuff on a pizza and ain’t nobody gonna turn their nose up…

Pizza Dough

2 teaspoons honey
3 cups warm water
2 packets instant dry yeast
2 cups 100% whole wheat flour
4 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons kosher salt
2 tablespoons olive oil

Dissolve the honey and water in the bowl of your mixer.  Sprinkle the yeast on top and after a few minutes it will go foamy.  Add in the rest of the ingredients…

and turn the mixer on medium with the dough hook attachment.

When it looks doughy, take it out and put it into an oiled bowl.  Rub some additional olive oil over the dough ball and cover it with cling film or a kitchen towel.  Put it in a warm place and just give it its space.

After six hours or more the pork roast probably looks (and smells!) pretty awesome, so take it out…

…and shred it up with two forks.

Put it back into the crock pot and toss it around in all that yummy cooking liquid.

Now preheat the oven to 425 degrees.  Take a look at your dough.  It’s all big and puffy!  When you take it out of the bowl, it just totally deflates.  Now I like to do my pizzas on a big ol’ baking sheet, but I know a lot of people that swear by their pizza stones.  One of these days I’ll get around to getting one…

For now I find that half of that dough ball fills a baking sheet perfectly, and that is just enough pizza for me, my Mr., and my two preschoolers.  So I just divide the dough, freeze half, and plunk the other half in the middle of my lined pan.  Then I just press it and work it until it covers the whole bottom of the sheet.

Top the dough with the pulled pork.

Throw on a just a little bit of cheese (I’m using mozzarella), and sprinkle with sesame seeds.

In the hot oven for 15 minutes or so, and then top it with thinly sliced green onions.

Click here for a 4×6 printable recipe card: Pizza Dough Recipe Card
Click here for yet another 4×6 printable recipe card: Crockpot Bulgogi Recipe Card

7 thoughts on “Bulgogi Pizza

  1. Looks tasty! What size roast would you recommend?
    I also love how you use a cookie sheet to make your pizza; I do the same thing! 🙂

    • that is so funny mo! when i was writing this i thought for sure you’d be commenting about how much you love a pizza stone… ha!

      i used the smallest roast i could find since this was just for the four of us; i want to say it was only around 2 1/2 pounds. we had leftovers from that. so unless you are feeding a lot of people, keep it small! the pizza doesn’t want to be overwhelmed by the topping!

      :o)

  2. Im now just seeing your reply! Weird!
    Anyway, I have gone through many pizza stones! I would always throw them out upon moving because I didn’t feel like packing it up! They are great, but I do really like using my old worn out cookie sheet! :). I’ve heard pampered chef sells a nice stone. I might look into it.
    I’ll be making this pizza soon! Thanks, girl!

Leave a Reply

