It’s Come To This, Eh?

Pasta.

I’ve been considering going gluten-free for a couple of weeks, to see if has any effect on my hashimoto’s thyroiditis.  I’ve been reading that many cases of HT are aggravated by gluten, and by eliminating it from your diet you can avoid eventual thyroid burn-out, which results in hypothyroidism.  Hypothyroidism sounds like a real picnic and I’d like to avoid it.

So I decided to take baby steps, and I Googled “gluten free diet”, and I came to this website: glutenfree-diet.org.  When this page popped up, I couldn’t help but notice the design choice to include large photos of delicious grains, breads and cookies.  This is such an odd choice, no?  What’s the point of tempting people with these things they can’t have, when you’re trying to help them get off of them?  As I scrolled down, I see this photographic masterpiece:

Look at this evil jerk trying to feed me delicious microwave pizza!

This web designer was sadly misguided.  Nonetheless, it’s a pretty helpful site, it tells me that wine is OK, but it might be lying to me, because it says Chapstick is off limits, but according this this site, it does not contain gluten: http://www.glutenfibrofree.com/products/gluten-free-lip-balm-roundup/. So, now I’m just confused, which will probably be my main state of mind for the next few weeks.

Well, now I’m off to go find some gluten free cookbooks.  This sucks, wish me luck.

7 thoughts on “It’s Come To This, Eh?

  1. Talk to my brother. He is a HUGE wealth of information on nutrition – especially gluten free, wheat, and no sugar. He’s been wheat and sugar free for a long time now, and feels great! Good luck!

  2. I was recently diagnosed with celiac and am gluten-free. I eat pizza (with gluten-free crust). There seems to be a debate about whether Chapstick is gf or not – the thing about MANY products is that they don’t test their ingredients, change suppliers, etc. so it may be gf one batch and not the next.

  3. We’ve been doing gluten free for a little over a month. Yes, you can eat pizza. It just has to be gluten free. You can make your own dough or buy it in a specialty store. We have a few here — co-ops and whole foods markets. You wouldn’t believe that Super Target carries so much of it at least in my area. Pasta — Target carries gluten free archer farms pasta noodles and they are great. There are other options too. What sucks for us is we can’t have casein (dairy products) so we can’t have pizza, cheese, milk, yogurt, or icecream. What helps is that we can have coconut milk which means coconut icecream (found this at Target too!), Earth Balance butter, and we make our own whip cream using Agar powder. It’s a ton of work, but we all feel better. I wasn’t consuming Vitamin D and I felt so crappy — losing hair, skin rashes, gut issues, fatigue, fatigue, and more fatigue and now after a month — I feel pretty awesome. Sometimes I still crave a cheeseburger or something that I don’t have to make, but I keep going because I told myself I’d stick it out for 6 months. Please stick it out if you do this diet because you won’t notice a big difference right away. You have to get rid of all the gluten and if your body has any in it, you won’t see any improvement. By the way, Bette Hagman has some good books on making bread and their are so many good mixes out there now. Udi is a good bread too. Gluten free bread is usually in the freezer section (I didn’t figure that one out for a few weeks…felt like a complete moron). They also have gluten free graham crackers, cookies, etc (Kinnikik is one good one). Oh and buying on Amazon is a good deal if you end up finding something you like and want to buy it in bulk. You can actually get fatter on some of the bakery products. I try to stay away from too many of those gluten free bakery goods. They have more sugar than the gluten stuff does.

    • This is so incredibly helpful, thank you! Thankfully gluten-free is becoming more and more common and it seems like it’s steadily getting a little easier. I went dairy free for 6 months after my son was born, that was hard, but it is possible, and I did feel really good while I was doing it. Coconut milk is so good, I love the ice cream too!

Leave a Reply

