Pizza Mac & Cheese

She’s a lunch-packin mother-ff…….sorry.

Hate to toot my own horn, but over the last year or so I’ve gotten a reputation at ChooChoo & Schmoodle’s preschool as being quite the lunch packer.  I don’t know what the other lunch-bunch kids are having, but the teachers tell me they all drool over what I pack every day.  I do try to give the kiddies a hot lunch as much as possible, especially on the really frigid days, and I like them to have variety.  Of course wholesome, good nutrition is always a priority.  I like to have a little stockpile of lunchy stuff in my cupboards and freezer so I can just pop something out and into their lunch bags.  I like this recipe because it gives me 12 portions of something yummy and nutritious, all in one little muffin.

½ box tomato-carrot pasta
1 ½ cups cream or milk
1 egg
Salt to taste
1 cup shredded mozzarella or pizza blend cheese
I saw this in the store and I was all over it.
Put some salty water on to boil and cook the pasta in it for 1 minute less than the package says.  Meanwhile, put the cream or milk and the egg in a medium-sized bowl with the salt and mix it all up.
Then put the cheese in…
And mix…
When the pasta is cooked, drain it, and put it in the bowl with your cheesy custard.
Toss to coat and then portion it out into a greased muffin tin.
Now it’s time for me to take ChooChoo to school.  Doesn’t he look so handsome in his red and black?
And the Schmoodle is just lovin’ life…
So I’m putting it all in the fridge while I run out…When I get back I put it in my 350 degree oven for 20 minutes until the custard is set and it’s all puffy.
Now (this is where Allie’s camera crapped out) let it cool and then run a thin, sharp knife around each mac & cheese muffin.  Carefully scoop out each portion onto a cookie sheet.

Freeze.  Once they are frozen you can put them in a zip-top bag and yank them out as needed.

Protein?  Starch?  Veg?  Check!  Check!  Check!

Leave a Reply

