Just a little peace.

A zen moment from Mere

Earlier today I was at my acupuncturist’s office.  He’s a really nice guy, who has been extremely honest about his struggles adjusting to life as a dad, since finding out I have two small children.  He and his wife are having difficulty coming to grips with the degree of difficulty associated with raising baby, as most people are, and he’s smart enough to be honest enough talk openly about it, instead of holding it in and pretending it’s peachy keen.

So, I’ve been trying to give him reassurance that yes, it’s super hard, but here are some things that help, and also assure him that it does get easier.  When my daughter was 2, I thought she was possessed by a demon.  It was frightening.  I felt like I was going to struggle with her personality for the rest of my life.  Luckily, after she finished getting all of her teeth, she turned into the sweetest, most feminine, loving, artistic and nurturing person I have ever met.  It DID get better.

Brooke Painting

It’s hard to believe there was a time when I wondered if this little flower was sent to break me.

Ultimately, the wisdom I learned that I wanted to share today, is that your child’s personality as a baby is no indication as to the type of person they’ll end up being.  When times are tough, and you can’t think of how to handle their crazy, all you can do is love them, and you’ll get through it together.

Also, it’s good to know there are a couple of things that helped us get through the two-year molars teething.  One, an amber teething necklace, which not only looks cute and will get lots of compliments, but eases pain and drooling.  The other, chamomilla, which you can get at just about any health food store.  Good luck!

Leave a Reply

